A Style of my Own

November 30, 2006 at 5:09 pm 2 comments

Birthday WishingI love working on canvas board. I just recently decided I’d gotten to a point where I could create artwork outside the safety of my journal, and picked up a few boards the size of my cards, feeling most comfortable with something that size — too large of a canvas can be intimidating!

After reading some books on techniques and practicing them, I think I’ve finally become comfortable with a style of my own, and don’t feel the need to seek out inspiration in the form of trolling flickr or the sites of other artists. I have a clear vision of what I want to make and how to go about it. It’s an amzing feeling and I have much more fun — a lot of it comes from a pleasant reaction to my first round of cards by friends, something that has me flying high and really beliving I can actually do something I love.

I’ve also started pulling images from family albums instead of looking elsewhere; copyright laws have me confused, so, in wanting to be better safe then sorry, I’m using personal photographs and even taking pictures when I’m out for use in collages. The birthday card above is a picture of my dad when he was young and a cake from a photo of my older brother’s birthday. Who knew I had such great material to work with? Granted, purchasing my copy/scan/print machine has helped A LOT. I recommend getting one to anyone who works with collage art.

Entry filed under: Cards, Collaging.

[new header and a secret admission] Canvas Exploration

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  November 30, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    That’s a beautiful collage.

    Reply
  • 2. chrysti  |  December 13, 2006 at 12:42 am

    Gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



